How I met…

My first speed dating was a great leaning experience.  I actually thought that talking to each person for 5 minutes was exhausting, especially when I tried to be friendly to all the men at the event. Because I talked to 15 men that day, I got a hang of making myself interesting in just 5 minutes.

My friend and I decided to try another speed dating a month after. This time we went to San Jose to see if there were any difference in men.  Also we had invited 2 more girlfriends to come with us.  As soon as we got there, we got our answer immediately.  Yes, the men in San Jose were different from San Francisco.  Men in San Jose were definitely “geeks”.  I could tell by the way they dress (jeans and t-shirt) and how they spoke(they can talk to computers but not people).  But I actually like geeky men, so I was getting excited about talking to all of them.

The event started and just like in San Francisco, the women sat down while the men went around every 5 minutes.  This time, there were 15 men and 16 women.  So right after I spoke to the 1st person, I had to wait for an extra round while others continued with their dating.  Because I had nothing to do but wait, I looked around to see how everybody else was handling their 5 minutes.  It was then that I noticed, that there was a guy who was wearing a “shirt and a blazer”.  14 men were all in their t-shirt but this guy dressed differently.

After half way through the event, I was feeling tired… Just like the guys in San Francisco, I was pretending to have a fun conversation. I was smiling the whole time and put on an effort to keep the conversation going. It didn’t matter if they were from San Francisco or San Jose… nobody was getting my attention.

I started to count down the men that I still had to talk to, and wished that they would cut the time to 2-3 minutes for the rest of the evening.  It was then, the guy with the “shirt and blazer” came in front of me.  We shook hands and introduced ourselves with our names first.  I’m a Japanese with a name that’s hard to pronounce and remember, but he got it right the first time. Most people can’t pronounce nor remember my name, so I would often tell them, “I’m used to repeating my name a hundred times, so don’t worry if you can’t remember”.  I was impressed with him and listened to him talk about himself.  I don’t really remember what I talked about in that 5 minutes, but I do remember telling him that I go to school in San Francisco and live there, not San Jose.  For the first time, 5 minutes went by really quickly…

After the event, my friends and I were exhausted and wanted to leave as soon as possible. When I stood up and picked up my bag to leave, the “shirt and blazer” guy came to me and asked if I wanted to have a drink with him.  I wasn’t in a mood for a drink, so I just told him “I carpooled with my friends so, sorry!”.

He looked kind of surprised at how I reacted since this was a “dating” event where people come here to find a date, but without a thought I chose to leave with my friends.

On the way back, the 4 girls had a chat about the men we just met at the event. Apparently the “shirt/blazer” guy made an impression to all of us because he stood out from the rest. My friends all came to the conclusion that he must like Japanese women.  However, I couldn’t tell if he liked Japanese women or just Asian women in general.  San Francisco bay area has a large population of Asians, so I didn’t really care if some men were only into Asian women.  I didn’t remember the conversation that I had with him, but my friends had all asked him about his age.  I knew for sure that I didn’t ask about his age because, I don’t ask the age to anybody. Anyway I learned that he was in his 30s.

That night, we went to the events’ homepage to check those we were interested in.  Though the “shirt/blazer” guy did leave an impression, I didn’t know if I wanted to see him again. But I marked him as “yes” anyway.

Leave a Reply

